Halal is an Arabic word that refers to food that is permitted to be eaten according to Islamic law. A halal restaurant is a type of eatery that specializes in serving dishes that meet this criteria. To be considered halal, all meat must come from animals that are slaughtered according to strict guidelines and all foods served must be prepared in a manner that is compliant with Islamic law. Additionally, a halal restaurant will not serve alcohol or foods made with pork.
How do you know if a restaurant is halal certified?
There are a number of halal restaurants located throughout the city, including establishments in Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Queens.
In some cities, there are a number of halal restaurants that specialize in casual street food. These restaurants often feature a menu that includes gyros, falafel, and other popular Middle Eastern dishes. They may serve these dishes platter-style with rice or in a pita with lettuce and tomatoes, a white tahini sauce, and red harissa sauce. Many halal street food places also offer baklava as a dessert option.